Montserrat Named on EU Tax Haven Black List

BRADES – Montserrat has been named among a list of 30 countries and territories named to the European Union’s tax haven blacklist.

Of the 30 named, 13 are from the Caribbean. This is part of the EU’s plan to crack down on companies trying to avoid paying their dues in the European bloc, according to reports.

The EU’s top tax official, Pierre Moscovici, today said corporate tax needed a “radical reform” and all member states needed to “pull together” to ensure companies paid their way. He added that publishing the blacklist of “non-cooperative jurisdictions” was a decisive step in pushing the territories to adopt international standards.

The full list is: Andorra, Liechtenstein, Guernsey, Monaco, Mauritius, Liberia, Seychelles, Brunei, Hong Kong, Maldives, Cook Islands, Nauru, Niue, Marshall Islands, Vanuatu, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Grenada, Montserrat, Panama, St Vincent and the Grenadines, St Kitts and Nevis, Turks and Caicos, US Virgin Islands.