De Delivera is the 19th Junior Calypso Monarch

The 2018 Jr Calypso competitors wait for the winners to be announced.

Tayshawn “De Delivera” Duberry  wowed the judges on Sunday evening to capture the crown for the 19th Annual Montserrat Union of Teachers (MUT) Junior Calypso Competition.

The 11-year-old who is a student at Brades Primary School competed in two rounds against seven other contenders. He also captured the special prize for Best Theme song with That’s Empowerment and the Best Newcomer  award.

Jelani Williams – The Mighty Shoelace won the youngest calypsonian prize. He was also second runner-up in the competition.

Second-year performer Raymer Manuel Ovalles -Sierra who performed as Raymer Style won the most up-beat prize. He kept the crowd entertained with his witty lyrics and rapid dance moves.

Melvalenna Tuitt was given a special mention prize as a newcomer. She also grabbed the third runner-up slot.

Veteran ‘Kimari Master K’ Kirnon was the first runner-up.

Other performers in the three-hour event which was hosted by Sharlene Lindsay, were D’Vaughny Browne – Trixter, Diego Benjamin – Mighty D and Kieanna Wade – Lady K.

The Best Songwriter award went to reigning calypso monarch Kenneth ‘Rabo’ Silcott for That’s Empowerment.