Jermaine Wade New President of Montserrat Rotary Club 2019/20

The Rotary, Rotaract and Interact clubs installed their 2019/20 executive teams on Sunday at the Olveston House.

During a two-hour ceremony on the lawn of the historic property, Deonne Semple handed over the gavel to incoming president Jermaine Wade. Wade said it was a momentous occasion as he and Semple came up through the ranks of the Rotaract Club together.

He pledged to continue the work the organisation is known for and will seek to increase its membership during his tenure. Wade also said the Rotary plans to seek district funding to purchase a vehicle for the differently-abled on island. They also plan to create a safe public playground for children and to promote prostate screening for men. The major fundraising project for the club this year will be the launch of the Regional Junior Calypso competition, which is slated for December 20, 2019.

The featured speaker was Assistant District Governor Dr Sharon Cordner, who commended the Montserrat Rotary for their longevity, stamina and perseverance for their 50 years of existence. She wished them another 50 and said the local body has the support of the district. She encouraged them to prepare to participate fully in the leadership training coming to Montserrat in October and the international conference which is to be in Hawaii in 2020.

Incoming president of the Rotaract Graeme Stanley said his team is prepared to hit the ground running when their term officially begins on July 1. Despite the last year being a tough one for the group, a full slate of activities of community work, training and fundraising have already been planned.

Kenita Barzey, the new president of the Interact Club pledged to continue the work of her predecessor Kijahrie Barzey. Her plans include strengthening the content of their weekly meetings, more community work and ensuring that members become more socially aware.

The 2019 – 20 Administration Teams are:

Club Admin – Nicole Duberry

Membership – Siobhan Tuitt

Foundation – Ateshia Lewis

Service – Lyandra Hobson

Public Image – Allayne Hall

Rotary Club

President – Jermaine Wade

IPP – Deonne Semple

President Elect – Linda Dias

Secretary – Yvette Lee

Treasurer – Debbie Battersby

Rotary Liaison Officers

Rotaract – Siobhan Tuitt

Interact – Lyston Skerritt

Rota Kids – President Jermaine Wade

Rotaract Club

President – Graeme Stanley

IPP – Adolphia Martin

Vice President – Jhovan Daniel

Secretary – Shaqueilla Samuel

Treasurer – Vanice Tuitt

Community Service – Chaquille Sam

Professional Service – TiVonne Howe

Club Service – Anisa Lindsey

International Service – Denecia West

Interact Club

President – Kenita Barzey

IPP/Vice President – Kijahrie Barzey

Secretary – Sonia-Gale Cabey

Treasurer – Tevique Benjamin