Montserrat’s Premier to Take Over Chairmanship of the Monetary Council Next Week

Monetary Council members at the 93rd Meeting in St. Kitts, earlier this year. (ECCB Photo)

Montserrat will takeover as head of the Monetary Council when it convenes the 94th meeting on island next Friday, July 26.

During a short handover ceremony scheduled for 9AM, Premier Donaldson Romeo will take over from Grenada’s Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Dr Keith Mitchell as chairman of the Monetary Council.

Premier Romeo and the Governor of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank Timothy N.J. Antoine are expected to speak at the brief ceremony. Following the handover and plenary sessions, the one-day meeting is expected to close with a cultural evening in the Sir George Martin Auditorium at the Montserrat Cultural Centre. The local branch of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank is coordinating the meeting in collaboration with the Office of the Premier.

The Monetary Council is the highest decision making authority of the ECCB and comprises the eight Ministers for Finance of the ECCB member governments. Chairmanship of the Council is rotated alphabetically each year among the eight ECCB member countries – Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Montserrat last chaired the ECCU in 2011.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: