Allen and Morris Through to 100m Semis at NACAC Toronto

Screenshot of Heat 2 of Mens 200m at NACAC. Julius Morris in dark green in lane eight.

2018 NACAC Track and Field Championships have begun. The three-day event began today August 10 and run until Sunday at Varsity Stadium, in the heart of downtown Toronto, and will be known as Toronto 2018: Track & Field in the 6ix.

Screenshot of Lavon Allen before his 100m heat at NACAC. Allen is through to Saturday’s semis.

The Championships will feature more than 600 athletes from 31 different countries throughout North America, Central America and the Caribbean, in 40 different track and field events.

Representing Montserrat at the meet are 27-year-old Lavon Allen and 24-year-old Julius Morris.

The competition is bolstered by a minimum prize purse of $160,000 awarded to the top-three finishers in each event. It has also been confirmed that event winners will receive an automatic berth to the 2019 IAAF World Championships to be held in Doha, Qatar, pending approval of their respective national federation.

Screenshot of Finals of Heat 2 of Men’s 200m at NACAC. Morris did not qualify for semis.

Morris received an automatic spot in the 100m semis coming into the competition with a 10.12 time while Lavon Allen secured his place by being one of the fastest qualifiers in his Friday heat with a time of 10.95

On Friday night, Morris competed in the Heat 2 of the men’s 200m. He finished in third place in a time of 21.11. However, there was faster losers in Heat 1 so he will not be advancing to the semis.

Lavon Allen is scheduled to compete in long jump on the final day of tournament. The 100m semis are slated for Saturday.

Who are the NACAC countries?
Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Cayman Islands, Commonwealth of Dominica, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States, and US Virgin Islands.

Follow the races and results here –