Montserrat Officials and OECS Counterparts Discuss Environmental Sustainability

The Minister of Agriculture Trade, Lands, Housing and the Environment, Honourable David Osborne and Director of Environment Miss Ernestine Corbett, attended the sixth meeting of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States’ (OECS) Council of Ministers for Environmental Sustainability also known as COMES 6, in Martinique from May 14 th – 17 th 2019.
The COMES 6 meeting brought together Ministers with an Environmental portfolio from the OECS Member States, international and regional development partners and OECS environmental technicians, to promote partnerships and discussions on Environmental sustainability of the region.
The 6th Council of Ministers on Environmental Sustainability Meeting was punctuated by five major themes. These are:

  1. Harnessing Strength from Diversity
  2. Leadership, Coordination and Mobilisation
  3. The Environmental Sustainability Agenda
  4. Collective Creativity and Innovation AND
  5. The Private Sector as a critical partner for sustainable development in the OECS.

The meetings reinforced the commitment of the OECS Environmental Clusters to tackle environmental matters including Sargassum, genetic benefit sharing, a comprehensive look at waste management and renewable energy among other environmental areas.
The OECS Environmental Cluster pledged wholehearted support for environmental sustainability in the Overseas Territories member states through funded projects, capacity building and skill transfers.
Last year’s, COMES 5 was held in Montserrat under the chairmanship of Hon. David Osborne, Minister of Agriculture, Trade, Lands, Housing and the Environment, The theme on this occasion was “Building Resilience on the Frontlines of Climate Change.” The COMES6 event saw an honest assessment of the achievement of the mandates set during COMES 5, many of which were met or are in the process of being addressed.
The COMES 6 event also saw the transfer of chairmanship from the Hon David Osborne to Louis Boutrin, Elected Executive Councillor with the Environment and Energy Portfolio for Martinique.
The 2020 OECS Council of Ministers for Environmental Sustainability meeting will be held in St. Kitts and Nevis.